Summer Games Festival and other events: everything we know so far

The 2022 Summer Games feels like another strange season for the gaming world. without E3, one more timeNow, we can expect a slew of online offerings looking to fill the void left by the massive gaming industry event.

With that in mind, we’ve put together a quick summary of all the major shows we know so far, and they’ll be up sooner than you think. We’re focused on events happening in June, but we’ll be expanding this post to include more details about events like Gamescom 2022 in August, which will return to an in-person event later this year.

CNET will be actively covering the extensive summer games season, so be sure to check back with us as more details come in. Especially if Nintendo and PlayStation decide to hold live events as well.

Summer Games Festival – Thursday, June 9, 11am PT / 2pm ET

Jeff Kelly summer fest game The scale of the event has grown over the past two years. The 2021 rally saw the unveiling of several games, including the game’s first promo elden ring.

So expectations are so high for the June 9 webcast – that you can watch it in select Imax theaters. If you’re going this far, there must be something exciting coming down.

Guerrilla Group – Saturday, June 11, 8AM PT / 11AM ET

The Guerrilla Collective is a digital showcase focused on the latest games from independent developers and other unknown content creators. Many of the games offered in previous years have become sleeper games, such as the detective puzzle game Genesis Noir, dating sim roguelike Boyfriend Dungeon and Chernobylite shooter.

If you’re looking to catch a fun show about games and see the creators behind them, head over to the Guerrilla Collective stream.

LIVE LIVE – Saturday, June 11, 9:30AM PT / 12:30PM ET

While many of the live broadcasts feature games with violent content or other adult themes, Wholesome Direct takes a different approach. It focuses on games that provide a relaxed and calm atmosphere and touches on titles that are accessible to all.

In last year’s broadcast, games like Pokemon Homage Ooblets and Unpacking were huge hits, with the latter becoming one of the CNET’s Best Games of 2021.

Future Games Show – Saturday, June 11, 12PM PT / 3PM ET

Hosted by GamesRadar, the Future Games Show has steadily grown over the years to become an important industry fair. According to the folks running this year’s show, we can expect dozens of new trailers and reveal from publishers like Sega, Konami, and Warner Bros. Entertainment.

This isn’t the only event at the Future Games Show this year. The next event will happen in August around Gamescom.

Xbox and Bethesda Games Show – Sunday, June 12, 10AM PT / 1PM ET

Although Starfield won’t release a 2022 version, we may see an appearance at the upcoming Xbox Show.

Microsoft / Bethesda Game Studios

Along with Summer Game Fest, there is another broadcast that could have a huge impact on gaming in 2021 and is responsible Xbox and Bethesda Show. Not much is known at the moment, but many of the games seen in a recent trailer, such as Hellblade II and Starfield, could make an appearance.

Unfortunately, Starfield and Arkane Studios’ Redfall was from Bethesda Softworks Both are delayed until 2023But that doesn’t mean there won’t be a show this year. We are very optimistic about the type of content to be shown this year.

PC Game Show – Sunday, June 12, 12:30 PM PT / 3:30 PM ET

The PC Game Show, chaired by PC Gamer, is another hardcore gaming event. This event specifically focuses on the games that are coming to PC, along with some updates about the latest hardware.

In previous years, we’ve made new discoveries for Dying Light 2, Borderlands 3, and Baldur’s Gate 3. This year looks to be a special year, so be sure to tune in to whether PC gaming is your top priority.

Overwatch Show – Thursday, June 16th, exact time to be determined

after success Overwatch 2 BetaBlizzard will host an online show focusing on what’s to come with the sequel to the developer’s popular online shooter. This demo will cover details about the Overwatch 2 roadmap, demo reactions and more. Hopefully we get to see more of the fun player-versus-foe AI co-op mode that made the rounds a few years ago.

Leave a Comment

%d bloggers like this: