Who has won the most Champions League titles as Liverpool and Real Madrid started off against each other

The 2021-22 Champions League semi-finals will take some center stage after two of the tournament’s best and most dramatic two-legged encounters took place this week, with Liverpool and Real Madrid booking their places in this month’s final. .

The Reds claimed a 5-3 aggregate win over Villarreal on Tuesday night, while Galacticos made a stunning comeback to beat Manchester City 6-5 over two games, with the rematch set to take place in the 2018 final.

Before facing the Stade de France on May 28, mirror sport Take a look at who has won the most Champions Leagues in the competition’s history.

Most titles – Real Madrid (13).

Real Madrid is the most successful team in the history of the Champions League with 13 distinct titles to their name, and Carlo Ancelotti’s men will aim for a record when they face Liverpool in Saint-Denis in Paris at the end of this month. .

The Galacticos won the first five editions of the competition between 1956 and 60, when it was known as the European Cup, before adding sixth to their group in 1966. Despite waiting 32 years for the next tournament, they won three in space. Five years in 1998, 2000 and 2002, before adding four more in five seasons in 2014, 2016, 2017, and 2018.

Their latest victory in 2018 over this year’s finalist, Liverpool, came with a 3-1 victory in Kyiv, Ukraine, and they hope to repeat history again at this year’s edition. Real Madrid also finished second on three occasions, in 1962, 1964 and 1981, the last of which was also against the Reds, in a 1-0 loss.

Real Madrid is the most successful team in the history of the competition


Sean Potrell)

Who is your favorite to win the Champions League final this year? Let us know your thoughts in the comments section below.

Seven titles – Milan

Italian giants AC Milan is the team with the second-highest number of Champions League titles to its name, having won the competition on seven occasions, and participated in a total of 11 finals in the competition.

The Rossoneri lifted the famous trophy in 1963, 1969, 1989, 1990, 1994, 2003 and 2007, while also finishing second in 1958, 1993, 1995 and 2005. They reached the final on three consecutive occasions between 1993-1995, before appearing three Another time in five years between 2003-2007.

Milan’s last win came in 2007, when they avenged Liverpool’s 2005 defeat with a 2-1 victory over the Reds at the Olympic Stadium in Athens, Greece just two years later. Despite returning to competition for the first time in eight years, the Italians finished last in their group at this season’s edition.

Six titles – Bayern Munich and Liverpool

Liverpool are looking to add six Champions League titles when they face Real Madrid in the final on May 28

German champions Bayern Munich and Liverpool this year won third place in the number of titles with six titles each, but they have never met at this stage of the competition. Liverpool could equal Milan with the second most trophies if they beat Real Madrid this month.

Bayern’s first three titles all came in back-to-back fashion between 1974 and 1976, before adding three more titles in 2001, 2013 and 2020, with the latter winning 1-0 over Paris Saint-Germain in Lisbon, Portugal two years earlier. They also took second place in 1982, 1987, 1999, 2010 and 2012.

Liverpool are the most successful English side in the competition with six titles, and have just appeared for the third time in the World Cup Finals in five years. The Reds won the Champions League for the first time in 1977, before adding five more in 1978, 1981, 1984, 2005 and 2019, beating Tottenham Hotspur 1-0 in Madrid. They were in second place in 1985, 2007 and 2018.

Five titles – Barcelona

Barcelona lifted the cup on five occasions


Getty Images)

Barcelona may have been falling short of late, but it is still one of the most successful clubs in European football, having won this competition on five occasions and appearing in three other finals.

The La Liga team did not win their first title until 1992, but quickly scored four more titles in 10 years with victories in 2006, 2009, 2011 and 2015, while also having runners-up in 1961, 1986 and 1994.

Their last victory came seven years ago, when they easily defeated Italian side Juventus 3-1 at the Olympics in Berlin, Germany to lift their fifth title. Since then, they have reached the semi-finals on only one occasion, in 2019.

Four titles – Ajax

Ajax has not lifted the trophy since winning the 1995 European Cup



Dutch Ajax may surprise some by occupying this top spot in the list, having not won a title in nearly 30 years, but they still managed to lift the trophy on four occasions, with their first three coming in successive years. The Eredivisie team won in 1971, 1972, 1973 and 1995.

Their victory came in 1995 thanks to a 1-0 win over AC Milan in Vienna, Austria thanks to a shot in the 85th minute by Patrick Kluivert. They also finished second in 1969 and 1996, losing 4-2 to Juventus on penalties after a 1-1 draw after extra time.

Since his last appearance, Ajax reached the semi-finals twice, in 1997 and most recently 2019, when they lost to Tottenham with away goals.. Eric Ten Hag’s team topped their group this season, before exiting in the round of 16 against Tottenham. Benfica.

Three titlesManchester United and Inter Milan

Manchester United and Serie A Inter Milan are next on the list with three titles each, although each team has won the title only once in the past two decades, after falling from both sides in the past ten years.

The Red Devils won their first title in 1968, before adding two more titles in 1999 and 2008. Their last victory came 14 years ago, when they defeated Chelsea 6-5 on penalties after a 1-1 draw after extra time in Moscow, Russia. They finished second in 2009 and 2011, losing to Barcelona on both occasions.

Inter Milan won the Champions League recently, which came with a 2-0 victory over Bayern Munich in 2010, which followed two more victories in successive years in 1964 and 1965. He also finished second on two occasions. , in 1967 and 1972.

The best of the rest

Titles – Juventus (1985, 1996), Benfica (1961, 1962), Chelsea (2012, 2021), Nottingham Forest (1979, 1980), Porto (1987, 2004).

1 title – Celtic (1967), Hamburger SV (1983), Steaua Bocoretti (1986), Marseille (1993), Borussia Dortmund (1997), Feyenoord (1970), Aston Villa (1982), PSV Eindhoven (1988) , Red Star Belgrade (1991)

Read more

Read more


Leave a Comment

%d bloggers like this: